Food Handler, The Law
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, re-testing is free. We will work with you until you pass our class and get certified.
Yes we do. Please click the link below for more information on our online food handler testing.
Your California Food Handler Card and Certificate will be mailed to you or your designated manager within 14 business days.
If an employer provides in-house training that complies with the regulations of SB 602; then the training must be offered at no cost to the employee(s) during normal employee work hours, and the employer is also obligated to pay employees’ salaries for the time they need to take the class and exam.
If employees obtain training and testing through a trainer-led class, such as that offered by us, or over the internet on their own, then the employer is not mandated to pay for the training and exam.
However, even so, an employer can select to pay for their employees certification, particularly to select a trainer like us, who will ensure their employees are properly trained.
Anyone classified as a food handler must obtain a California Food handler Card. A food handler is an individual involved in the preparation, storage or service of food in a food facility. Some examples include chefs, cooks, preparers, waiters/waitresses, servers, hosts/hostesses/maître ds (if they handle any food, dishes, or even napkins), caterers, busboys, dishwashers, and delivery drivers
A California Food Handler Card and Certification belongs to the food handler, and can be taken to any new place of employment.
The law requires employers to maintain records documenting that each food handler employed by a food facility has a valid Food Handler Certificate and can provide those records to the local enforcement officer upon request. The document you get comes as a single cardstock sheet in three detachable parts: One is a wallet-sized card for the employee; one is a slightly larger card-sized document that the employer can file away; and one is a certificate suitable for framing. Each of those parts has all the pertinent information that certifies the food handler as trained
We require a valid government issued photo identification before the examination starts, as proof that your are the candidate registered for the class.
In order to take the examination, you must take the class. The purpose of the California Food Handler law SB 602 is to have all food handlers properly trained in basic food safety principles it mandates both the training and test assessmentIn order to take the examination, you must take the class. The purpose of the California Food Handler law SB 602 is to have all food handlers properly trained in basic food safety principles it mandates both the training and test assessment
Yes, if you have completed the training and you were unhappy with the quality of the class, you may receive a refund. Please make sure you tell your instructor before you take the exam, since we cannot issue refunds after the exam has been started.
The California Food Handler Card and Certification is good for 3 years